Croque Monsieur at The Delaunay, Aldwych

3 May

LOCATION: The Delaunay, 55 Aldwych, WC2B 4BB [map]

PRICE: £5.75

BREAD: Sliced white

FILLING: Ham and Gruyère cheese

PROS: Well, melted cheese is never a bad thing, although when I say melted…

CONS: …what I actually mean is, melted at some point, quite a long time before arriving at my table. Congealed. Bendy. This was, without a shadow, the worst croque monsieur I have ever eaten. So, instead of delivering a croque monsieur, The Delaunay decided to deliver a game. The game was called: ‘Find The Croque Monsieur Under a Big Pile of Salad Ha Ha Ha Sucker!’  What the actual piss take is a mountain of (under-dressed) baby gem doing on top of my sandwich? Oh and the sandwich is TINY, by the way. I put the two halves together and they did not amount to a full sized slice of white bread, even with the crusts removed. On the inside was a really generous amount of spectacularly poor quality ham; you know, the shiny kind. The Gruyère was a very poor example – apologetic, pathetic. The whole thing was blistering hot on the outside and stone cold in the middle. The bread was so greasy it reminded me of a caff I used to visit in Oxford where they deep fried everything, including the sausages and bacon. In short, I didn’t rate this sandwich. The Delaunay is a lovely room however. They can have one point for that and one more for the waitress, who was charming and brought me a Martini.

SCORE: 2/10

17 Responses to “Croque Monsieur at The Delaunay, Aldwych”

  1. roswensian May 3, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Oh dear – I saw the title of this post in my email and I did a little internal air-punch, love a Croque Monsieur… now I feel super deflated and depressed.

    Damn you Delaunay, Damn You.

  2. pb May 3, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Is that not burnt as well? That definitely looks on the burnt side of toasted.

    Still, Tatler’s restaurant of the year, so I’m guessing you *must* be wrong here…

  3. Chris Pople May 3, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Croque Monsieur? Crap Monsieur, more like.

    You can have that one for free

    (Oh yes and my sausage was rubbish too and cost TEN POUNDS)

  4. Milli's Kitchen May 3, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Sounds to me like the person who thought they’d get ahead on prep and put this ready to grill sandwich in the fridge over night (if it was stone cold in the middle) was the same person who was hungry and cut off enough sandwich with the crust for their lunch! Hope you said something?

  5. mcrevys May 3, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Also, to me, that looks b-u-r-n-t.

  6. Hugh Wright (@HRWright) May 3, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Gosh…that’s bad. I like The Delaunay (http://bit.ly/TPFP_TD), but seriously that thing should never have even been brought to the table – I’d have sent it back! Did you complain?

    • londonreviewofsandwiches May 3, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      I did not complain, Hugh. Do you know why? Because I was DRUNK. Yah.

      • Tony May 3, 2012 at 11:59 am #

        It was lunch time when I discovered your latest entry… I ran down to the car got in, started the engine and prepared myself for some fantastic lunch. I havnt had a decent Croque Monsieur since I was last at Fouquet’s in Paris on the Champs-Elysees (opposite the Aviation Club). All I needed was the address. Sigh.

  7. Jonathan Brown May 3, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Looks and sounds ghastly. Disappointing.

  8. Cesar Valverde May 3, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Ooh generous… On this basis I could manage 1/10 without even bringing a sandwich to the party… Maybe only 0.5 tho, because whilst my Martinis are killer, the charm is illusory.

  9. Tori (@eatori) May 9, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Such bitter disappointment. It’s a bit like gilding the lily, but the french toast croque monsier at Foxcroft and Ginger is manna from heaven to me. Fixes a hangover, every, single, time.

  10. Mzungu May 20, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    A very poor excuse of a croque, or in fact any sandwich …… And it’s burnt …..

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

