Smoked Salmon and Dill Sauce at Opus, Clapham

2 Jul

LOCATION: Opus, 89 Acre Lane, SW2 5TN  [map]

PRICE: £4.20

BREAD: A white muffin.

FILLING: Smoked salmon, cucumber, tomato, dill sauce, rocket.

PROS: Well, dill tastes nice doesn’t it.

CONS: Opus only do toasted sandwiches. Bit annoying on a hot day but whatever. Also, every single sandwich, of which there are about 10, contains tomatoes. Stranger still is the fact that the ingredients list for every sandwich on the menu begins with ‘tomatoes’, like they’re the primary ingredient in any sandwich apart from a tomato sandwich. I stand for a minute or so trying to work out the reason for this but it’s a total dead end so I choose one of the sandwiches instead. There are normal options such as cheese, ham or cheese and ham together. And then, there is smoked salmon with cucumber and dill sauce. Toasted. That sounds like something which should be eaten cold, no? That will be weird, I think to myself. Won’t that just be really weird? So of course I order it.

It arrives in a paper bag with a piece of kitchen paper around it. She knows I’m eating in but perhaps she feels I can’t be trusted with a plate. I remove it from the bag and…MY EYES! The thing is stuffed to the brim with rocket. Shitloads of it. I hate rocket. I hate it primarily because it doesn’t taste very nice and it dominates everything with its gashness but also because it pops up sodding everywhere. Perhaps this offensive leaf invasion was listed on the menu; I wouldn’t know because I was busy thinking about why there were so many tomatoes of primary importance flinging about.

I press on. So the outside is blistering hot, right? Fair enough, that’s called toasting. Everything on the inside is cold though. The salmon particularly so. The contrast is unpleasant. As I make my way through the sandwich, the tomato, which is next to the bread, starts to warm up, taking on a fluffy, mealy texture. I’m frantically pulling out the rocket. Worst of all though is the fact that the salmon is starting to get warm too, but only in places. I do love eating a piece of fish that has both hot and cold patches, it’s not at all unnerving.

The thoroughly pleasant dill sauce has its work cut out trying to make amends for everything else, which is a shame. An ill-conceived sandwich, a baffling approach to menu writing and a waitress who couldn’t crack a smile.

SCORE: 2/10 

13 Responses to “Smoked Salmon and Dill Sauce at Opus, Clapham”

  1. Chris July 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Yep, that does indeed look like absolute shite. Well done them.

  2. Gene July 2, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    That’s funny! The first thing I thought looking at the picture was, holy crap that’s a lot of arugula! Seems like you should see some salmon when you order a salmon sandwich!

  3. hollowlegs July 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    *whisper* I like a bit of rocket. JUST A BIT THOUGH.

    I’m all for toasted sandwiches, god knows they are a hangover curer. But – and this is a big but – all toasted sandwiches should involve cheese otherwise there is no point. I decree this as thus!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches July 2, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      I agree. I’m never deviating from cheese again. I’ll have to ignore the rocket commment…

  4. Marina Huxley July 2, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Won’t be going there then!

  5. The SW Food Blog July 2, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Don’t dislike rocket in itself, just hate how its inclusion seems to bump the price of an every day sandwich up by about a quid…criminal!

  6. Donald July 3, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    So when you get smoked salmon that’s both hot and cold at the same time it’s horrible, but when Heston makes a cup of tea that’s both hot and cold it’s a gastronomic miracle?? WELL WELL? INCONSISTENT? MUCH? God Graves, your food philistinism both shocks and appals me. x

    • londonreviewofsandwiches July 3, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      *GASP!* since reading your comment I’v realise that, like Alex James’ cheeses, the sandwiches at Opus at just ‘ahead of their time’. I am cavewoman. Ug.

  7. Keen on Food August 1, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    the tortures you go through to bring the truth to the eyes of the masses. Anyway, I always had my suspicions of Opus. Something weird about the whole place not just the permanence of tomato.

  8. The Porto Bellas December 11, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    This just made me so hungry. Love your blog!!
    -JulieC

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

