Ham, Cheese & Salt & Vinegar Crisps at Dish and Spoon, Nunhead

2 Nov

LOCATION: The Dish and The Spoon, 61 Cheltenham Road, Nunhead, SE15 3AF [map]

PRICE: £4.50

BREAD: Soft white.

FILLING: Hafod Welsh Cheddar, ham, salt and vinegar crisps, butter, tomato chutney.

PROS: So in the morning I whinge on Twitter that I have an unholy craving for a ham, cheese and crisp sandwich. The next thing I know, Dish & Spoon tweet that they will deliver one, to my office. How. Cool. Is. That? Top marks for coolness and spontaneity.

The sandwich arrives 20 minutes later and is packing plenty of thick cut proper ham that’s really meaning business, some frankly outstanding Hafod cheddar that has those crunchy little crystals which I think are collections of the amino acid tyrosine, and a sign of good maturation? Cheese expertise welcome at this point. It’s very good anyway; all those big fat wadges of it. Tomato chutney arrived on the side, just in case I wanted it, and I did.

Salt and vinegar crisps are my sandwich crisp of choice, closely followed by cheese and onion. What made me very, VERY happy about this sandiwch however, other than the fact it was delivered into my hands, was that they had left the ‘press down’ for me to do myself; you know, when you press the top slice of bread down and all the crisps crunch together.  Surely half the pleasure of eating a crisp sandwich.

CONS: The bread was a little too thick for my taste, but no big deal. Also, I would’ve added mustard – wholegrain probably, plus a little spread of mayo, rather than the chutney.

SCORE: 8/10 plus MAD PROPS for bringing it to my office. 

9 Responses to “Ham, Cheese & Salt & Vinegar Crisps at Dish and Spoon, Nunhead”

  1. Pere November 2, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    There ham is from @moonsgreen i believe available at @brockleymarket. Damn good it is too

  2. Catherine November 2, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Have tried their tomato chutney, served with a very tasty cheese scone and butter. I thought I wouldn’t like it, but I did. I wonder what type of cheese they put in the scone? Must ask the next time I go there.

  3. hollowlegs November 2, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    That. Is. Awesome. How did it arrive, was it a bike courier? I don’t think I could find a sandwich that good in W1.

  4. Andy K November 2, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    Ooh i always thought they were salt but you’re right – tyrosine!

    http://www.thekitchn.com/the-cheesemonger-a-bit-of-crun-47988

  5. Miss Whiplash November 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Oh, South London… Why are you so very very far away….?

    • londonreviewofsandwiches November 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Look lady, I went to MUSWELL HILL the other day. Pull your finger out ;)

      • Miss Whiplash November 2, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

        That’s pretty dedicated by anyone’s starndards – I can’t really compete…

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

