Chargrilled Caulifower Wrap at Mike and Ollie, Brockley

28 Jan

Yes, a wrap is a sandwich. Read my FAQ to find out why.

LOCATION: Brockley Market, Lewisham College Car Park, Lewisham Way, SE4 1UT [map]

PRICE: £5.50

BREAD: Home made flatbread with a touch of orange blossom water.

FILLING: Chargrilled caulifower with crispy garlic and cumin; hummus; red cabbage; rose hip molasses; home made yoghurt; Turkish chilli; toasted seeds; coriander; a little rocket.

PROS: I don’t know where to start because this wrap was just outstanding. The cauliflower was lovely and smoky from char grilling and was packed with garlic and spice. The whole wrap brimmed with wonderful contrasts; silky cooling yoghurt mixed with mild Turkish chilli heat; creamy soft hummus against bits of charred cauli, toasted seeds and sweet molasses. Cabbage added crunch. Coriander, freshness. It’s like a flavour explosion, barely contained within that beautiful home made flat bread, faintly fragrant with orange blossom, warmed through on a hot pan. Mike and Ollie are two chefs who wanted to do something different; they make everything themselves, going so far as foraging for rose hips, fruits, nuts, whatever is in season locally. From what I can tell, Ollie is the behind the scenes foraging guy, while Mike does the cooking and selling. Bloody nice bloke he is, too.

There are meat and fish options available. I tried the spanking fresh mackerel (pictured below) with beetroot puree; crisp apple (fab with the fish); caramelised red onion and rosemary; rocket; home made yoghurt; toasted seeds. This was also brilliant but eclipsed by the cauli.

CONS: I can’t think of any. So why does this get 9 and not 10/10? I suppose the best answer I can give is that, although this tastes INCREDIBLE, it didn’t make me start dancing on the nearest table. I’m not sure any sandwich can ever get a 10 but then, that’s the challenge I have set for myself. It might just be out there, waiting. One day. In the meantime, get your chops around one of these wraps.

SCORE: 9/10

21 Responses to “Chargrilled Caulifower Wrap at Mike and Ollie, Brockley”

  1. hollowlegs January 28, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    I’m impressed that you went for the cauliflower option, it’s not the sexiest of vegetable is it? Brockley Market seems to be getting better and better, I’m looking forward to another visit (once I can get up early enough…)

    I have heard reports of a burger available there made with candied bacon!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 28, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      The candied bacon burger coming at you next! I ate it before I ate this. I KNOW. Which explains why I went for the veggie option…

  2. jen January 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Yum. That one sounds REALLY good!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      It’s fantastic. They have a new menu coming next week apparently which I’m sure will be just as good.

  3. Vikki (The View Outside) January 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Oh wow!!!!! I really want to try this one 🙂

    What day is the market on hon?

  4. Jess January 30, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Be honest, the reason it loses a point is because it doesn’t have bacon.

    I’ve nearly completed a veggie month (well almost, you try being veggie on a ski trip in the Alps) and have been experimenting a lot with the cauli. New found appreciation. This looks good man, real good. And the mackerel too, I am a mackers fiend. Looking forward to moseying around Brockley market when I’m back down south London (YES).

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 30, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      A veggie month! Well done you! I am also a mackers fiend – so cheap! So yummy! (so many exclamation marks!) You’re moving back down? This is major! When?

      • Jess January 30, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        Beginning of March. Bring it. Found an amazing house near Brixton……. my new cooker….. it has six hobs…. anyway, I foresee plenty of AMAZING EATING! And oh yeah. Veggie thing was actually okay when eating at home… it’s when you leave the house that it gets a bit uninspiring. Was to make sure we made the most of the veg box innit.

      • londonreviewofsandwiches January 30, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

        YAY! Excellent news! SIX HOBS!

  5. Chris January 30, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I’m definitely going to make the effort to get to Brockley Market between 12:00 and 12:30 or whatever their opening hours are (yes I am exaggerating but come on guys, have SOME sympathy for those of us who live an hour away on the bus and have hangovers). I was initially tempted by the MotherFlipping burger but this sounds even better.

    I’d hazard a guess (without not much experience in this area) that all the wrap places live or die on how good their bread is – the bread is the first thing I noticed about Moolis, all savoury and bubbly and nice. And it’s the reason (ok, one of the many, many reasons) why the ones from Pret taste like sweaty old cardboard. Get some nice daily-baked bread and heat it up properly and you’re already off to a good start.

  6. Paul January 30, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    That looks proper lovely and well worth the meat sacrifice. On a wrap theme, i’d love to hear a good tip for Schwarma wraps. The version at Ranoush Juice seems to have gone downhill recently

  7. The Grubworm January 31, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    I was sold on the description of the bread, never mind the filling. Freshly made with a drop of orange blossom. Hell yeah. The rest of it is (very tasty sounding) dressing. Fill that with a well spiced lamb kofte and I think I would’ve reached sandwich nirvana. Now if only they had this north of the river…

  8. don February 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    You look vaugely familiar…CALL YOUR MOTHER!

  9. Keen on Food February 15, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    We love your new blog! Being half Canadian (and thus as near as dammit to American – don’t tell the other half that) we also share your appreciation of the sandwich, which as Joey legendarily states in one episode of Friends, is his favourite meal and ours too.

    Sadly, being veggie at Keenonfood we can only approximate some of the classics from over the pond; but take a look why don’t ya?

    As you’re not, however, I would beg you to get yourself over to Mishkins’ and try the Reuben there or the Sliders at Spuntino and let me know what you make of them. Also, don’t forget the Mufalleta and Sloppy Joe. Two classics to cook up at home as sure as hell won’t find them here..yet..(we have veggie versions on our site, but pretty heretical really).

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 15, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for your comment. Have tried both from Russell and loved them. I wonder however, if a mufalleta is to be found in London? Do you know of one?

  10. Keen on Food February 16, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Done already>
    Did I miss a review then? ; )

    yeah, I think you’ll have to wait five years before the Mufalleta arrives. Imagine how long we waited for a Reuben. Then I think I’ll have to wait another five for a veggie version…

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 16, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      Well, I’ve been living in London for 5 and a half years and I only just started this blog! Retrospective blogging ain’t my thing, sorry!

      Think I’ll have to make my own Mufalleta!

  11. Simba Levo February 10, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    I’ve sampled this Mike and Ollies’ stuff, I saw them passing through New Cross one day with a sort of wheelbarrow like contraption. I tried some chutneys as well. It was delightful.

Leave a Comment

