Pork Belly Bun at Yum Bun, King’s X

19 Feb

LOCATION: Eat.St at King’s Cross, King’s Boulevard, N1 – see Eat.St website for location, opening times and stalls.

PRICE: £3 for 1, £5 for 2.

BREAD: Chinese steamed bun.

FILLING: Pork belly, cucumber slices, spring onion, hoisin sauce, Sriracha chilli sauce.

PROS: Oh sweet, sweet happy joy! This is a stunning sandwich. The main event is a thick slice of tender pork belly, including a very important strip of wibbly wobbly silken fat. I think the pork belly is pre-simmered with aromatics (e.g. star anise and Chinese cinnamon), then re-heated in the steamer to serve. Whatever, it’s lush. The richness of the soft meat and gleaming fat is offset by discs of crunchy cuke and the punch of shredded spring onion. A drizzle of sticky hoisin provides sweet n’ spice, and Sriracha sauce, gentle heat. And the textures! That bun is a cloud-like bundle of pure pillowy heaven; the fluffiest example I’ve eaten. My friend declared it better than any he’s tried in New York, including the Momofuku version. I wouldn’t know because I haven’t been. What I can say however is that I went back for a second, despite that fact I’d demolished the first one plus another sandwich from another stall (I was very hungry), because I couldn’t take my mind off the thing the whole way back to the station.

CONS: None. Will I ever give anyone a perfect 10/10? It’s possible, but something incredible needs to happen. This bun is faultless nonetheless. Yum Bun, indeed.

SCORE: 9/10

14 Responses to “Pork Belly Bun at Yum Bun, King’s X”

  1. Gourmet Fetish Girl February 19, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Waking up in the morning & reading this post first thing has set me up for a very good day. Thanks!!

  2. Sarah February 19, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Eat.St is fabulous! I was there Friday and brought a friend new to London, and his eyes were on stalks. I got to try Buen Provecho for the first time, too. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what the fuss is about – his salsas and guacamole are amazing, but I wasn’t convinced by my chile verde enchiladas. My friend raved about the pibil though, so it might be that my pork avoidance keeps me from appreciating it fully. Oh well.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 19, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Oh yeah, the pork pibil is by far the best one! That’s such a shame. I was there Friday too. We may have been chomping away next to each other.

  3. hollowlegs February 20, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Momofuku’s version is pretty damn sexy so this HAS TO BE TRIED. I tried making these at home about a year ago and it was a disaster, mainly because I went to the pub ‘just for one’ and proceeded to get hammered and forgot about my proving buns.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 20, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Well, I wouldn’t know about the Momofuku version so please don’t blame me if it isn’t as good! Yes I remember you telling me about BUN GATE. I tried making them too and they came out fairly well but I didn’t think they were quite light enough, so didn’t post the recipe.

      Wish I worked closer to Yum Bun…

  4. alligood February 20, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    I am in complete agreement. I first tried Yum Bun at Hackney Broadway Market last year and it was indeed a near perfect sandwich experience!

  5. A. V. Cheshire February 21, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Reblogged this on Either/Or/Bored and commented:
    In London? Please send me this sandwich!!!! next day delivery pls.

  6. jen February 26, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    My (American) friend Rachel lives in Mortlake just across the street from an American Sandwich Deli called ‘Pickle and Rye’. May I suggest you meander over there some day?

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 27, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      Hi Jen. Yeah, Pickle and Rye has been on my list for ages and I’ve been talking to them on Twitter. Only prob is it’s a right bastard for me to get to. That said, might amble over this weekend.

  7. Su-Lin March 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Eat.st needs to open in West London. Yeah, k, thanks, bye.

  8. Robert March 19, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    I’ve only just seen this… Better than Momofuku? Sounds a brilliant reason to try it… As I loved their pork belly buns. I’m a greedy glutton.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 19, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      According to my mate, yes! I can’t say though as I’ve never been. I know these ones are bloody delicious though.

Leave a Comment

