Lobster Roll at Burger and Lobster, Mayfair

4 Mar

LOCATION: Burger and Lobster, 29 Clarges Street, Mayfair, W1J 7EF [map]

PRICE: £20 including chips and a side salad.

BREAD: Brioche roll.

FILLING: Lobster meat bound with mayo, sprinkled with chives.

PROS: Everything about this sandwich is perfect. It brims with big chunks of tender, sweet lobster meat; the perspective on the photo doesn’t do justice to the generosity of filling. I was worried there might be too much mayo but no, just enough to bind everything together and lubricate. Perfectly judged. As much as I enjoy working over a lobster, there’s a lot to be said for having it all there, ready and waiting to be stuffed in my face. The bread is absolutely incredible too, the butteriest brioche I’ve ever tasted; the texture impossibly light and fluffy within, crisp and toasted on the outside, the butter in the bread leaving it caramelised. Bite after bite of that stunning, rich brioche and that decadent lobster meat, the subtle oniony tingle of chives. Heavenly. I ate half then made sure to finish my chips and salad before polishing off the rest; an experience to be savoured and repeated, often.

CONS: None. The first ever perfect 10 on LROS. I knew as soon as I took the first bite.

SCORE: 10/10

16 Responses to “Lobster Roll at Burger and Lobster, Mayfair”

  1. Jen March 4, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    My flatmate almost worked here… the idea of two (or three) things on the menu perplexes me, but if you say it’s good, i believe you!

  2. Chris Pople March 4, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    SO glad you enjoyed this as much as I did. It could be a difficult sell, going for the lobster roll over the whole lobster because the lobsters they use for the roll are smaller and if your only concern is stuffing as much crustacean into your face as possible for the lowest price (like me) it’s tempting to go for the whole. But actually, as the pros are generally more efficient at extracting the meat, I reckon most of the time you end up with more meat in the roll.

    That’s not interesting, but it is true.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 4, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      I did ask the waitress if it was a whole lobster in the roll and she said that it wasn’t measured out ‘by lobster’ which is understandable as they must obviously have the mix ready. Still, a lorra lorra lobsta!

  3. Hugh Wright March 4, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more, it’s a thing of joy and beauty that roll. In fact am just writing about it at this very moment for my next Torygraph column. Jonesing for one right now, obvs…

    x

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 4, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

      It is a thing of utmost wonderment and joyness! See, I just made up a new word to describe it. I’m jonesing for one too, by which I mean I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I ate the last bite. Looking forward to reading your piece, as ever x

      • Jen March 4, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

        I mean I’ve never been to a place with only three things on the menu, but it seems to work!

      • londonreviewofsandwiches March 5, 2012 at 7:45 am #

        Ah right I see. Well, give it a go!

  4. hollowlegs March 5, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    ooooh that lobster roll is a thing of beauty and joy; the only time I’ve had it I had eaten a whole lobster beforehand too. I don’t recommend this kind of gluttony.

    Apparently the mayo-dressed lobster is Maine-style whereas in Connecticut they dress the lobster with warm herbed butter.

    Droooooooooooool.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 5, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      Oh man, I could’ve eaten a second roll, let alone just a second lobster! Can’t stop thinking about it.

  5. john March 5, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Hi, I read your review last night and had to go for an early lunch today!
    We had a roll and a whole grilled lobster which can be shared between two easily as they cut the sandwich in half and the lobster is split lengthways.
    Both were fantastic. The roll will haunt me for a long time.
    The whole grilled lobster with garlic butter won the day though because there was just so much more sweet, sweet meat.
    Fantastic value at £20.00 for a 1.5Lb – 2Lb creature.
    I can’t wait to go back.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 6, 2012 at 6:20 am #

      It’s such good value isn’t it? For a whole lobster in London, anyway. I’m so pleased you loved it.

  6. Dave Evans (@evansde77) March 5, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Twenty Squids for Sandwich??? Better be effing perfect 😉

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 6, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Aha! I was waiting for someone to say this! £20 for a whole lobster in London is, I’m afraid, a bargain Dave. Plus chips and salad 😉

  7. eatsandbeatsldn August 16, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    i’m such an idiot. i went to burger and lobster and didn’t order this! next time…

  8. Japami September 24, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Had this a few weeks ago with a friend; it was very good, but not the perfect sandwich imo. My friend found the brioche very rich (as you say) and the the whole flavour was a little underwhelming after all the excellent reviews we’d read.

    £20 is a bargain for a whole lobster, but certainly not for this meal where you don’t get close to a whole lobster. I found the fries to be a little too fast-foody and the salad basic. I was bitterly disappointed when the waiter brought the whole lobsters to table next to us – I’ll be ordering that next time!

Leave a Comment

