Scampi Fry & Dairylea Lunchables on the 176 to Penge

23 Oct

LOCATION: The 176 to Penge.

PRICE: £2.18 (buys multiple sandwiches)

BREAD: Diarylea Lunchables biscuit things.

FILLING: 2 squares Dairylea Lunchables shiny ham, 2 squares Dairylea Lunchables shiny bendy cheese, 1 Scampi Fry.

PROS: We were hungover and I can’t deny that we just wanted to cram as many filthy snacks into our faces as possible. This was infinitely more pleasurable because we felt guilty for doing it; what kind of sicko sandwiches Dairylea Lunchables with Scampi Fries?

CONS: Apart from the fact that this is obviously sick, the ‘sandwich’ was one dry, crumbly bastard, even when washed down with a warm can of London Pride.  Also, it’s really quite incredible that the smelliest of all snack items, the Scampi Fry, is totally overwhelmed by the Lunchables; the flavour is, remarkably, completely lost and we all know that they properly KIFF. That’s just like, anti-science or some shit.

Still went back for a second though.

SCORE: 2/10

20 Responses to “Scampi Fry & Dairylea Lunchables on the 176 to Penge”

  1. hollowlegs October 23, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    ASS CRISP.

  2. wolfy October 23, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I’ve always thought Penge sounds slightly obscene.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches October 23, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      That’s why I used it. I was actually going in the other direction but I can never resist using Penge. YOU KNOW WHAT IT SOUNDS LIKE.

  3. The SW Food Blog October 23, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I’ve found that this is normally better if you substitute the scampi fry with a round cheesy puff. Although it does make it much more difficult to eat.

  4. graemesemple October 23, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Fucking hell Graves: that’s ten types of wrong right there!

    The smell issue reminds me of the time I produced a brace of pheasants from my rucsac at my pal’s and when he came back into the room he said to the group, “God, has someone farted?” And I replied, “No, I’ve just taken your dinner out of my bag, is all.” Hahahahaaaaaa

  5. beachhutcook October 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Love it!

  6. katrinaykwong October 23, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    That is quite possibly FILF! However can I suggest a scampi baguette with tartare sauce next time on a hangover day?

  7. kirses October 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Best sandwich review ever…

  8. Carly October 24, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Don’t worry, I’ve done worse things on the 176 to Penge.

  9. Russell October 28, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Ahh, the 176 to Penge. The place that sounds slightly less obscene than Vange in Essex. Oh and I suppose Twatt in Orkney / Shetland http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twatt#See_also

    • londonreviewofsandwiches October 28, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      Did you know there is a place in Ireland called Muff? It has a diving club. Not. Even. Joking.

      • Russell October 28, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

        Years ago I worked in a Credit Card Call Centre. I once spoke to a customer who had bought petrol there. Their statement said “Muff Service Station”. The customer’s name was Mike Hunt. This is not a lie.

      • londonreviewofsandwiches October 29, 2012 at 8:19 am #

        Come on Russell, you’re making that up surely (PLEASE SAY IT’S TRUE)

  10. Russell October 29, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    I’m happy to say I speak the truth 😉

Leave a Comment

