The MO Burger, Byron, Spitalfields

1 Nov

LOCATION: Byron, 3-6 Stewart Street, E1 6FQ [map] (but available at all branches of Byron)

PRICE: £8.75 (or, FREE between 7-20th November, 3-6pm for those who can show they’ve raised £25 or more for Movember).

BREAD: Sesame seeded glazed bun.

FILLING: Hamburger patty, cheddar cheese, pickled red onion rings, salted cucumber slices, iceberg lettuce, mustard dill dressing.

PROS: This is one TASTY BOIGER! I’ve always thought Byron burgers are remarkably good considering they’re a chain; to keep the quality when you’re shifting such quantity must be very tricky indeed. I’m rarely a fan of cheddar in a burger but the richness of it works here, and it’s all down to those glorious pickled onions. I adore pickles of any kind. My mother once told me I used to eat so many pickles as a child that my lips would turn white, which I’d argue raises questions about her parenting but still, it makes my point here rather nicely. Cheers mum. The salted cucumber slices are very crisp, uniform and plentiful. I want them in all my burgers and most of my sandwiches. These, together with the dill dressing (brushed on to the top half of the bun), remind me a lot of the Elliot’s burger I tried (and loved) a while back.

The best thing about this burger is obviously that it’s been created for charidee; 50p from every MO burger sold will go to support Movember, adding to the £60,000 that Bryon has raised for the cause over the last two years. That’s pretty damn impressive. Also, if you’re taking part and have managed to raise £25 or more and can prove it, you can scarf one of these burgers for free between 3-6pm from 7-20th November, every day.

CONS: Nah, it’s a fantastic burger for a really worthy cause. You can hit the road if you think I’m criticising that.

SCORE: 10/10

5 Responses to “The MO Burger, Byron, Spitalfields”

  1. katrinaykwong November 1, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Gazing art this wonderful burger whilst nursing a hangover is painfully distracting. Thanks for the heads up on such a charitable burger.

  2. Miss Whiplash November 1, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    I am sad that I cannot grow a moustache and therefore cannot eat this every day for a month…
    Just thinking about the pickles is making my mouth water…

  3. beachhutcook November 1, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    I agree, this burger gets my vote too. Bryon is our burger joint of choice.

Leave a Comment

