Guest Post: Ham, Swiss and Mustard at Nelson’s, Borough

30 May

A guest post from @jerrylatter

LOCATION: Nelson’s, 168 Borough High Street, SE1 1LB [map]

PRICE: £4.50

BREAD: White French baguette. Butter may have been used, but any sensory evidence of its existence was lost in the mustard.

FILLING: Swiss Cheese (Emmental I suspect), ham, mushroom and mustard (English)

PROS: Much like the albums of early solo career Sting and the gymnastic skills of Beth Tweddle you know that you’re guaranteed quality when you walk into Nelson’s. They certainly do enough to put you off; a huge glass door that weighs as much as a caravan, and decor that was last updated when the Bay City Rollers were in full swing, but, amongst the cognoscenti, Nelson’s is one of the best Italian delis in the Southwark area, with a huge landscape of meat and cheese based combos and an excellent range of melts, run by a selection of efficient and polite second generation Italian chaps who I have absolutely no doubt are in the possession of the phone number of someone who would be prepared to break legs for money.

This particular combo is one of their specialities, and a personal favourite – what you remember about it aren’t the components that fill you up (the bread, ham and cheese), it’s the unexpected additions. Indeed it’s the crunch of the mushroom, that you notice first off – a truly effective counterpoint to the tenderness of the cheese. There’s ham in there too, but the mustard kicks in right in the centre of your nose just as you realise, and your mouth is still salivating for the next watery squelch of the mushroom. He lightly toasted the sandwich today, which I didn’t ask them too, but it worked – the warm bread melting to the taste and letting the components do their work. Magic.

The combo is also available on brown baps but you’d be fucking nuts to go that way.

CONS: Only the price. I’m not comfortable busting the £4 threshold south of the river and £4.50 is just too much, despite their excellent service. They lose points solely for this. They also need a new cash register as the one they have whirrs like an industrial drill, but I’m not going to mark them down for that.

SCORE: 8/10

7 Responses to “Guest Post: Ham, Swiss and Mustard at Nelson’s, Borough”

  1. Miss Whiplash May 30, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Hmmm… This sort of looks good, but I have a real problem eating baguette sandwiches – they tear the corners of my mouth to shreds – is that just me?

  2. donald May 31, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    Jenny, I think your mouth just isn’t big enough to cope with the toasted baguettes of the sandwich world 😉 But seriously, I’ve never been to Nelson’s, which is something I really ought to remedy.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches May 31, 2013 at 7:55 am #

      Oh I should’ve said that I turn the baguette upside down so the crackly top bit is facing down thus saving the roof of your mouth.

  3. roym June 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    can i just add that the three egg omlettes at Nelsons are stupendous.

    • Ruth June 26, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      But… but… £4.50 for a sandwich that scored 8/10 and £7 for a sandwich that scored 9/10 in Brixton and you grumbled that it cost £4.50 south of the river. God why am i even writing this? I’m just trying to distract myself from the awful cravings your blog gives me for this in my face, oh and the last one in my face, and that nutella one in my face (it’s been years since i ate nutella… and I liked it when I was a kid… hmmm).

      • londonreviewofsandwiches June 26, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

        Ruth I direct you to the ‘I am sandwich loving lady’ page which outlines the completely arbitrary nature of my ratings system 🙂

Leave a Comment

