Philly Cheesesteak at Liberty Cheesesteak, Victoria

5 Jun

Cheesesteak

LOCATION: Liberty Cheesesteak stall, Cardinal Place Shopping Centre, Victoria, SW1E 5JD [map].

PRICE: £8.00 for a whole one. You can also buy a half for er, £4 I guess?

BREAD: Italian-style sub roll.

FILLING: Rib-eye steak, Cheez Whiz, fried onions.

PROS: Soooo, the deal with Liberty Cheesesteak is that they are all about the authenticity. While I was waiting for my mate I overheard one of the cooks saying to an American customer, “when we sawwww how people were doing cheesesteaks over herrrre we were all like, whaaaaaa???!!” and so Liberty Cheesesteak was born. The sandwich apparently should not contain any extras, such as the commonly added fried green peppers, only the fried steak, the onions, the cheese, that’s it.

Now I am not a fan of the food police, you must know that, but I have to say, this was a fine cheesesteak. I like green peppers in a cheesesteak, I do, but it turns out that I also like the sandwich very much without ’em. The beef was rib eye, cut into really thin slices (I presume by freezing it first), then slapped on the hot plate and chopped up and mixed with the onions using those scrapey flippy spatula jobbies. There were three options for cheese: Whiz, American, and Provolone. I went for Whiz, firstly because it was billed as ‘authentic’ HINT HINT and also because I’ve always wanted to try it. It’s like artificial processed cheese that comes in jars. The Americans love that shit. It was great in the cheesesteak I have to say, like a cheesier Dairylea or a melted slappy cheese slice, and it made for the most wonderful goo inside the sandwich when mixed with the hot meat. That sounds horrible but was great, really. Honest. You no like idea of goo? No goo for you? Boo hoo. Okay I’ll stop.

Oh and the bread! Those very light and easily inhalable Italian style subs that the Americans do so well.  They didn’t get the bread FROM America, obviously, but they have, apparently, ‘worked with a baker in Putney’. So there ya go.

CONS: Ummm well we agreed the meat could use some pepper, but other than that it’s hard to think of any. Still meat in a bun wit cheez though innit, so just shy of full marks.

SCORE: 8/10

Untitled

16 Responses to “Philly Cheesesteak at Liberty Cheesesteak, Victoria”

  1. Catherine June 5, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

    So Yianni was wrong with his green pepper offerings……..

    • londonreviewofsandwiches June 5, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

      Have you joined the food police, Catherine? You know how I feel about them 😉 I’m easy with whatever people want to add, or take away from a sandwich. I enjoyed both styles very much indeed. This was so easy to eat.

      • CheesesteakUK June 5, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

        Many thanks for the great review. Green Peppers AND Mushrooms are the other acceptable offerings. We are just keeping it simple and real! Again thanks, The Liberty Team!

      • londonreviewofsandwiches June 6, 2014 at 1:15 am #

        ooh! I’ve not had mushrooms. Anyway, LOVING your work, guys. Loving it.

      • Catherine June 6, 2014 at 9:12 am #

        Green peppers give me heartburn!

      • londonreviewofsandwiches June 6, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

        Oh. Lovely! Thanks for sharing ha ha.

  2. Lizzie June 5, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    GIVE ME CHEEZ WHIZZ PLEAZE

  3. OS June 5, 2014 at 3:55 pm #

    totally ready to eat this, right now

  4. Alicia (foodycat) June 5, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    In Australia you can get a shelf-stable cheddar cheese thing in a jar, which is what I imagine cheezwhiz tastes like. I love it. Microwaved and poured over chips it is the best thing in the world.

    Guess I have to head down to Victoria for a sandwich.

  5. Carol June 5, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    These are the VERY BEST sandwiches I have ever had. Cannot wait for my next one;… the staff are great too.

  6. myfoodhunt June 6, 2014 at 8:26 am #

    That sounds quite promising, and looks like it may be close to the real deal I will have to try this out. I lived in Philly for a while and was quite spoilt. It was a struggle to get good cheesesteak in other places I lived like Chicago that matched. If I can get a good one in Londinium that would be ace. Thanks for the heads up

  7. Hannah June 6, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    shitting hell this is very close to me, I am GOING.

  8. The American March 14, 2015 at 1:55 pm #

    Cheese Whiz – a nuclear orange colored plasticky substance that is harvested from the brains of dead trolls. Not all of us like this stuff and most think it’s pretty disgusting.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 14, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

      The American – plenty of other options. I thought the brains of dead trolls were used to make all day breakfast in a can? Shows how wrong you can be.

Leave a Comment

