I am Sandwich Loving Lady

I live in London and I love sandwiches. See how this happened?

I also write another blog called Food Stories
Follow me on Twitter: @FoodStories
Follow me on Instagram: @FoodStories

FAQ:

1. What qualifies as a sandwich?

Apart from the obvious, filling-between-two-bits-of-bread kind of sandwich, I’ve decided that burgers, hot dogs and even wraps all qualify. Yes, that’s right, wraps. This is my website, see and I make up the rules as I go along. A wrap involves filling, which is contained within some kind of bread – that makes it a sandwich.

2. How does the scoring system work then?

I score each sandwich out of ten depending on how it compares to other sandwiches I’ve eaten, how much it has me in raptures or otherwise at the time and my general mood on that day. I will not be setting out any kind of scoring system where an 8/10 must fulfil certain criteria etc. etc. I like to have too much fun when eating to faff about with such nonsense. Also, it’s only a sandwich.

3. Why doesn’t the RSS button work? 

Probably because you’re using Google Chrome. Install the RSS Subscription Extension. Problem solved.

4. Will you be posting your own recipes?

I will be posting recipes for home-made Super Sarnies on occasion, but I’ll be doing it on my other blog, Food Stories.

Advertisements

63 Responses to “I am Sandwich Loving Lady”

  1. Grahame January 12, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Glad you have made this blog, the subject deserves the space on it’s own.
    I enjoy reading your stuff, cheers

  2. benedict murray January 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    hello sandwich lady
    do you want sandwich contributions from others as well?
    i eat sandwiches a lot so happy to throw any good ones your way
    x

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 13, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Hey Benedict. Not at the moment I’m afraid! Will let you know if I do in the future though x

  3. Will January 16, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Seems you and I have similar ideas about the importance of the Sandwich! We sarnie-lovers should stick together I say…

    Keep up the good work, and one day, this most humble of food-forms will be held in suitable reverential regard by one and all!

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

  4. eatdrinkplaylondon January 18, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Absolutely love this idea! Really looking forward to reading all about your findings! x

  5. Will February 2, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    R.E. The F.A.Q. (too many initials?), I whole-heartedly agree with your stance on wraps. Why should any food form be denied entry into Sarnieville because it’s roots are in a different culture?! Open sandwiches too… Bring on the wrap revoution!

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

    • londonreviewofsandwiches February 2, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Totally! I’m very inclusive. All welcome! I’m thinking kebabs, too…

      • Tony March 25, 2012 at 8:35 am #

        Hi Sandy, Do Cornish pasties count as a sandwich? Can’t wait to try out Lobster Burger. If only I could bring myself to travel to Kings Cross for lunch… that picture of the Chinese Sandwich looks ravishing. T

      • londonreviewofsandwiches March 25, 2012 at 9:26 am #

        Sandy?! Ha ha ha ha. Cornish pasties = no. That’s pastry.

  6. Emma Glossop February 28, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    I love this blog….makes my mouth water!!

  7. Helen May 9, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Can something pre-made be eligible for a shot at London’s best sandwich? The ham hock and picallili on wholewheat bread at the Festival Hall is quite possibly one of the best things I have ever eaten…

  8. Lauren August 2, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Just signed up so I will get regular updates (sorry I hadn’t done this before, I do follow you on Twitter but then I’m never on Twitter…I know, I know, need to get with the programme sister…) I figure this is better than keep asking you for recommendations. God I’m SO hungry right now…

  9. Jered October 31, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Hi ,

    Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/52/1708579/restaurant/Haringey/Chooks-London

    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:

    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon

    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/52/9614/London/The-London-Review-of-Sandwiches.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar

    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.

    If you have any questions, please contact me via email.

    Thanks,
    Jered
    jered(at)urbanspoon(dot)com
    http://www.urbanspoon.com

  10. Taylor November 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Love your blog, but I’m confused, No Earl of Sandwich review? You can’t have been doing this for ten months and not eaten one? Surely???

    • londonreviewofsandwiches November 2, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      I am afraid it’s true but dude, so. many. sandwiches!! Also, HAVE I?! Jeez time flies.

  11. greg@urbanspoon November 2, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Thanks, Helen! I just approved your blog claim. Now your Urbanspoon profile picture is displayed on your blog page. You can upload a blog-specific photo if you prefer, and can change a few other blog settings there. Also, if you vote for a restaurant that you’ve reviewed on your blog, we now show your vote next to your post everywhere on our site.

    http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/52/9614/London/The-London-Review-of-Sandwiches.html

    Best,
    Greg

    http://www.urbanspoon.com


    greg(at)urbanspoon(dot)com

  12. Ben December 27, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Hey I moved to New York from London a few years ago and loved reading through this blog, it made me wish I had stayed in London looking at some of those bad boys! All the best for the future!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches December 29, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      Thanks Ben! I’m pretty sure you’re not stuck for good sandwiches in New York though!

  13. Hadley Stirrup February 19, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    Hello! Please rush to the Corner Cafe at 140 Roman Road, Bethnal Green, and order their chicken wrap. I teach at the primary school over the road and adore everything about this tiny cafe, run by a warm, charming Turkish man with one equally lovely woman assistant. This is the cosy,unpretentious, welcoming cafe selling amazing coffee and mouthwatering, comforting food, of my dreams. The view of East London life from the large window can be entertaining too, though its not exactly St Marks Square. Everything that I have tried there is delicious- try their cortado coffee if you want the caffeine equivalent of pure heroin. But if I had to recommend one thing, it would have to be the chicken wrap,which is frankly so much more delicious than it needs to be,or than the phrase “chicken wrap” would have you imagine. The falafel wrap is totally sublime,too. Just go,please – and you can thank me later.

  14. Bugsy Steel February 21, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    Go here and eat the sandwiches.
    The guy is a genius and has invented some of the best sandwiches this side of your belly.
    This isn’t a plug, I just eat them quite often and thought you should know.
    http://www.timeout.com/london/restaurants/pacific-social-club

  15. Marina April 24, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Sandwich loving lady…..your this is the best job in the world! You should try a B&K salf beef sandwich. Heavenly.

  16. Taylor April 25, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    If you take recommendations, I have to suggest the Earl of Sandwich on Ludgate Hill, just along from St Paul’s. Recommend the Beef and Bleu above all others…

  17. Christel May 7, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i
    own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

  18. Linda and Adriana May 23, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    love your blog!!! its makes me chuckle and hungry at the same time 🙂

  19. Jasmine June 23, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Hello!

    I’m a sometime Shepherds Bush resident and I came across your site when I was researching where exactly I would get some falafel when I go back there next week.

    As a fellow falafel fan I thought I’d mention one of my favourite fried chickpea experiences. If you ever find yourself in Paris you just have to try some of the falafel wraps in La Marais. I thiink the one I went to was called L’as Du Fallfel.

    Have you tried the falafel stand in Petticoat Lane?

    • londonreviewofsandwiches June 23, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

      Great. thanks for the Paris tip. No, I haven’t tried the one in Petticoat Lane. I’m assuming it’s good?

  20. SanFranciscoFoodie June 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Thank you for such a wonderful site! Just moved to London from California and your insight into a good sandwich is a blessing! Can’t wait to get out there and try some!

  21. James Digva July 18, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Hey there, I love your blog. Where would you say in your opinion is/are the best place(s) in London to get a sandwich that’s made fresh for you?

    • londonreviewofsandwiches July 18, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks! Well that depends on which bit of London you are looking in? Try having a look on this blog under specific areas.

  22. Trece September 15, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    Come see Ocean Bells Coffee Company in Watford. Almost everything is made/baked/prepared in store. 🙂

  23. talkingarse October 6, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    I don’t know whether anyone has alerted you to HT Harris north of Oxford Circus. It’s heavenly. The greatest chicken escalope in the world.

  24. Ella October 22, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Hi, your blog is absolutely brilliant. What a great idea!
    I work for Triptease.com – a platform to share the very best of travel and foodie experiences and would love to have you on board as our sandwich aficionado.
    Do you have an email where I can send you some more details?

  25. Edward March 17, 2014 at 12:38 am #

    Have you been to http://www.pickleandrye.com/#!
    It’s really good. You can have an English or American size sandwich, plus they are really friendly.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches March 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

      I’ve been meaning to go for ages but it’s such a pain for me to get to I haven’t made it yet. Soon, though.

  26. Sharon March 24, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Where have I been all your blogging life? Just read a 2012 blog response from Russell that made me cry with laughter at my desk! Thank you, thank you.

  27. Tara April 20, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    Great blog. I live in Toronto, and the BEST sandwich I have ever had was on a September trip to London. I tried a “Chicken & Stuffing” sandwich from Marks & Spencer. It was beyond delicious. Do you know if that sandwich is only available in autumn? If I visited in late August or early September would it be in shops? Thanks!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches April 23, 2014 at 9:42 am #

      Hi Tara, sadly I’m afraid I am unfamiliar with the seasonal availability of M & S sandwiches.

  28. Adam May 4, 2014 at 7:15 pm #

    My mate Josh makes sandwiches… http://billorbeak.co.uk/

  29. Andrew November 5, 2014 at 8:35 pm #

    Hi sandwich lovers…. please see the link below for a cause worthy of interest…… no jokes please this is a serious issue!

    http://www.gofundme.com/gthpxw

  30. Alanna December 4, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

    Just found this blog (genius, by the way), and I turn to you as expert. Where can I find a filled soft pretzel. I know, sounds so simple, but I’m struggling. The whole cheese-baked-into-the-top thing is fine, throw some pepperoni on there as well if you like, but where can I get a decent soft pretzel sliced longitudinally and filled with delicious meat and/or other sandwich fillings. There must be a market stall somewhere I’m missing. I live NW but very willing to travel. (Once the craving’s there, it ain’t going away.)

    • londonreviewofsandwiches December 4, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

      A tricky one! I’ve not come across one so I’ve asked on Twitter…

      • Alanna December 4, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

        Keep me updated. There are some holes only a pretzel will fill!
        (Though on that note, I am totally going to check out Bokit’La – I have a limitless capacity for cravings.)

      • londonreviewofsandwiches December 4, 2014 at 5:42 pm #

        All I’ve got so far is that there is a train station chain doing them. one at Denmark Hill, one at Paddington. Depends how desperate you are…

  31. Alanna December 4, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    Let’s not call it desperate, let’s call it dedicated (y)

    • londonreviewofsandwiches December 4, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

      I like your style, Alanna.

      • Alanna December 4, 2014 at 9:53 pm #

        I like yours, crazy sandwich lady.

  32. stagechef March 10, 2016 at 11:48 am #

    Hello,
    I have a special request to make.
    I have a place I would like you to review for me.
    If you could email me and then I can explain further.

    Kind regards

  33. Alexander August 25, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    We need to review some sandwiches together. Check out my Instagram – @the.xandwich – i think it might be of interest !

    🙂 Xander

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: