Brindisa Chorizo Roll

4 Jan

There’s surely no better way to kick things off than with a true London classic, the Brindisa chorizo roll.

LOCATION: Brindisa, Borough Market [click here for map and opening times]

PRICE: £4.95 for two pieces of chorizo, £3.95 for one. Obviously I had the former.

BREAD: Ciabatta roll drizzled with olive oil and grilled.

FILLING: Chorizo, Piquillo pepper, rocket.

PROS: This sandwich is truly deserving of its place as a London stalwart (they’ve been firing up that grill for over 10 years now) and its success is down to the quality of the ingredients and the fact that the chorizo is grilled to order. A generous portion of freshly sizzled picante sausage (imported from Spain by Brindisa) oozes scarlet-paprika oil onto the scorched ciabatta bun. It really is some of the best Spanish sausage in London. Piquillo peppers serve to further ramp up the intensity with some sweetness. As for the rocket, this sandwich has the flavours to give it what for and quash any bullying tendencies.

CONS: Borough Market is a tourist destination and you’ll need to get there early unless you don’t mind queuing and spending 30 minutes trying to walk 10 yards in pigeon steps.

SCORE: 8/10 

45 Responses to “Brindisa Chorizo Roll”

  1. Jess the Bao January 12, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Love it!!! I have to have this every time I go to Borough Market without fail. Even if the queue is a mile long!!

  2. Salty January 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Helen – loving the new blog. What a simple idea, well executed. Will add to my blogroll immediately. Despite working a stone’s throw from Borough, I’ve never eaten the chorizo roll – only because the queues are always so long. Will have to remedy that. Good luck with your sarnie questing!

  3. Chris January 12, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    As you say, a London classic. Always wonder why something so loaded with oil and grease is so easy to eat – it’s not like there’s any citrus or sharpness in there, just that sweet pepper. But it really works doesn’t it.

    Only problem I have is one is not enough and two is too much..

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 12, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

      TOO MUCH?! NEVER! Ha ha. Actually, now I’m thinking about it, do they squeeze a little lemon over? That may be a false memory…

      • Chris January 12, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

        Fairly sure they don’t – IN FACT, they drizzle EXTRA olive oil over the top before serving! The crazy, greasy bastards.

      • londonreviewofsandwiches January 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

        They drizzle the oil on the bun before grilling. Don’t remember them drizzling it on top. Christ.

      • Chris January 12, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

        Yeah they do. At least they did last time I had one. Because what fried chorizo soaked in oil always needs is… more oil.

  4. tomatoesandradiowire January 12, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Such an amazing sandwich! One of the things I really miss after giving up pork. I think what keeps it from being overwhelming is the rocket – it’s nice to a have some bite in there. Makes me think of English mustard in other sausage sarnies.

    Just want to say that I’m a longtime reader of Food Stories, and I think your recipes are really wonderful.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Awww thank you! I’m so pleased you felt moved to comment this time and I hope you keep enjoying the blog.

  5. gemma January 12, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    do burgers count?!! too pieces of bread and a filling?!

  6. Alex January 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Great idea for a blog Helen, I’d been discussing the lack of sandwich review blogs with my sister just the other week.

    I really like the chorizo roll and have eaten more than my fair share over the years – but i think my personal no 1 sandwich at borough is the bubble, bacon and cheese from maria’s market cafe.

  7. Tori @ eatori January 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Fabulous idea for a blog- this roll may have been one of the clinching reasons for not only us moving to London, but living near Borough. It’s the number two stop for every visitor to our place (after a coffee).

  8. Reluctant Housedad January 12, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Fantastic idea for a blog. I’ve had one of those chorizo sandwiches at Borough Market and you’re not wrong in your assessment. I’ll keep coming back as you build up your content. Good luck with it.

  9. CatfordAndy January 12, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Given up pork? Did you say given up pork? I would suggest therapy. I believe there are bacon therapists these days.

  10. Ian Goodrick Photography January 12, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I had a plan to try all the different ‘food to go’ and sandwiches on offer at Borough Market. I knew it would take a some time as my visits are rather infrequent.

    The plan went well over the first few visits, until I tried the Brindisa Chorizo Roll! Now it’s Brindisa Chorizo Roll, Brindisa Chorizo Roll, try something else, Brindisa Chorizo Roll.

    It could take years to try all the other offerings.

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 13, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      Hard to move away once you’ve tried it, isn’t it? The grilled cheese though…dribble

      • Ian Goodrick January 13, 2012 at 8:37 am #

        Not tried that yet. Last week it was two lincolnshire sausages in a bun with onions.

      • londonreviewofsandwiches January 13, 2012 at 9:27 am #

        mmmmm sausage

  11. shona chambers January 13, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Im late to the party but I have to say i am a big lover of this sandwich. I used to work around the corner till last year and it was responsible for many pounds out of my purse and onto my ass!

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 13, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Ha ha! Those pounds are still on my ass unfortunately. I don’t think this site will help too much. Worth it though, totally worth it!

  12. browners January 13, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Classic sandwich to start with. Textbook. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Love the blog.

  13. John January 13, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    I am looking forward to following this sandwhich blog very much.

    Has anyone seen this great little film called ‘Sandwhiches You Will Like’?

    Enjoy!

  14. John January 13, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    This just a clip and the whole film is about an hour long.

  15. casacantabria January 15, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh Dear, I’m up in Glasgow and i’ve heard about this chorizo roll, it’s legendary, i’m vey jealous of anyone who’s tried it…..

    • casacantabria January 15, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      of course i mean ‘very’ jealous

    • londonreviewofsandwiches January 15, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      I think you know there’s only one way to resolve this torturous situation and it is: MAKE THE TRIP!!

  16. Will January 16, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    You can add me to the list of tourists clogging up the queues; this just shot straight to the top of my London priority list. Next time I’m visiting that way I’ll be sure to try it. Chorizo + pretty much anything = divine.

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

  17. Jen January 16, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    yum!

  18. holly January 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    i bloody love this… new borough market fave 🙂

  19. Carly July 8, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Working my way through your top-rated sandwiches very slowly – Selfridge’s salt beef back in March, now finally this one. I got there at about half 11 and there was no queue at all, but when we passed by again at about 2pm (not for another sandwich, sadly) people were lining up round the block, so definitely worth catching as a brunch. Oh my god this sandwich though, seriously. I was worried it’d be a little dry and I’m big lover of sauces, but it didn’t need it. SO INCREDIBLY JUICY. A guy after me asked for his without rocket, and I was all like, what the hell are you playing at.

    • Carly July 8, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      I see from your most recent post that you are not a fan of rocket. I apologise for my last comment (but it does work quite well for this particular sandwich, no? Adds a nice bit of crunch, I feel).

    • londonreviewofsandwiches July 9, 2012 at 6:58 am #

      ha ha! just seen your second comment and yeah, it does work in this sandwich actually. I take it back! Really pleased you enjoyed it. They brush the bread with oil to make it nice and juicy. Love it.

  20. Luke Stroud May 18, 2016 at 11:35 am #

    So I know this post is over four years old but better late than never… I went at 12pm today and I only saw one other person order a roll in the 10-15 minutes I was there. The roll itself was okay and I enjoyed the slight crispiness of the chorizo, but it certainly didn’t live up to the hype of the best sandwich/roll/burger/other doughy goodness in London. Has anyone been lately? Has it changed? Is it just me?

Leave a Comment